Students Performance Evaluation

The performance of students in a course shall normally be evaluated through course examination and continuous assessment carrying 70% and 30% respectively. The pass mark shall be 45%. The total marks obtained shall be converted into letter grades and transformed to grade points as follows:
Levels of Performance Rating/Grade point
A = 70% – 100% 5
B = 60% – 69% 4
C = 50% – 59% 3
D = 45% – 49% 2
F = 0% – 44% 0

To qualify for graduation, a student must have:
ii. Completed and met the standards for all compulsory and elective courses
iii. Obtained a minimum CGPA of 1.50
iv. Met other requirements that may be prescribed by the Department, College and Senate of the University.

The Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) is used to determine the level of the final pass grade obtained by a student in all programmes in the University as indicated below:
First Class 4.50-5.00
Second Class (Honours) Upper Division 3.50-4.49
Second Class (Honours) Lower Division 2.50-3.49
Third Class 1.50-2.49